Happy 4th of July

Dscn6593

 I hope ev eryone had a wonderful 4th of July. I spent it with my family and for the first day in a LONG time, I relaxed, read a book, rested, ate, and did NO WORK. My husband has been trying to get me to relax and have a “nothing” day for a long time and I finally did it. It was wonderful. Day’s like yesterday with good food, time for reflection, and a lot of red, white, and blue are important for perspective!!

Maggie, Mike, and Bunsen all sent me reflections and I thought I’d pass them along to you. We hope you had Happy 4th and are having a wonderful today!!

 

Maggie’s Thoughts- 

Now that the interviews and experiments are done, it is time for me to give my lab coat a rest and head out on a little camping trip.  I will be converging with some friends for a full week in Joshua Tree, California.  During the day we will hike in order to admire the surrounding rocks and plant life.  In the evening, we will do some stargazing and sing folk songs around the campfire.  The fourth of July is a  nostalgic time for a scientist like myself because it reminds me of how appreciative I am of the freedom I enjoy as an American.  I am free to ask questions and free to answer them as the truth reveals.  I hope you celebrated and enjoyed your Independence Day in your own special way and I look forward to returnign to the lab refreshed and inspired. Happy 4th America!!

Bunsen’s Thoughts –

I LOVE FIREWORKS!!

And to get to watch them with the music greats like Sousa, Francis Scott Key, and John Williams (I think fireworks look even better when listening to the Star Wars theme)

!!!!!!!!!!!BOOM!!!!!!!!!!

The best are the big, loud ones t hat go off in big spheres that just… they’re huge! With the magnesium! Sometimes it’s alumninum or barium oxide, but magnesium burns pretty bright! The ones with strontium carbonate are good too.. WAY better than the lithium carbonate. You know what I mean? You’re like, lithium carbonate gets the job done, but the strontium… well you know. Far superiour. Then you get the whistlers. SCREEEEE with the barium chloride highlights in the streamer parts and it almost outdoes the calcium chloride, and the titanium.  And the FINALE! With everything going on, the music, the color, the screeching and I can hardly contain myself. I’m going nuts with…BOOM! BOOM!  BOOM!

… And then usually I have to appologize to everyone for my behavior.  (But ohhh. It was worth it!) 

Mike’s Thoughts –

On July 4th, the Mademoiselle Bessie and her beautiful family went on a little trip to the beach.  The Mademoiselle was kind enough to bring us along. I do LOVE independence day with all the wonderful smells and colors of different food and festivities. Ahhhh! It reminds me of my village.

Before we left the house, we all made paper flags to wave out the window and at the beach.  Bessie is so good with crayons, I let her color mine. As I watched, I could not help but notice that the colors of the American flag are the same colors as tho se of my homeland, France. Sometimes I miss my village, but I love being here with Bessie.  The Americans call their flag “Old Glory” or the “Stars and Stripes” and I learned that President George Washington explained the symbolism of the U.S. flag in this manner: “We take the stars from heaven, the red from our mother country, separating it by white stripes, thus showing that we have separated from her, and the white stripes shall go down to posterity representing liberty.” I like him.

The fireworks were outstanding. Such a brilliant display of color splattered against the black backdrop of a night sky.  It is like a visual Mozart. And to see Mademoiselle’s face light up in excitement and admiration made the day just perfect. What a wonderful way to celebrate family, friends, and freedom.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy 4th of July

  1. jonwolf08 says:

    What a great Independence Day! Bunsen…you crack me up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

