Interview with Megan Hughes, Trailhead Art Director


by Jill Brownlee Wolf 

 

Dsc_0125_2_2

 

A couple of years ago I was introduced to Megan Hughes and was immediately smitten. She is sweet, talented, and the perfect addition to our creative team.  Last week I interviewed her to find out more about her journey, inspiration, and craft.  Here is what she said. 

 

JB: What inspired you to become an artist? 

MH: My mother felt it important to expose us kids to the creative. Thus every summer we tackled a new creative challenge with classes, practice, and a healthy dose of laughter. We tried sewing, crochet, every kind of craft, dance, music, and art.  Dancing turned out to be humorous and art awakened me. 

 

JB: Tell us about your journey.  When and how did you know this is what you wanted to do? 

MH: I knew from early age that I wanted to be an artist; I just wasn’t sure what kind. In high school I had an art teacher who pushed me to apply to CSSSA  (California State  Summer School Arts).  I took the animation track and learned how to combine photography, art, and music into one. I loved it.  I applied and was accepted into the  character animation program at Cal Arts. 

 

JB: Tell us about Cal Arts. How did it train you? 

MH: Cal Arts gave me the opportunity to explore with art. Each year we had to make a film. The first year it only had to be 90 seconds and by year 4 it had to be 5 minutes. The medium was completely open.  But the experience forced us to collaborate with other art students to bring together animation, story, music, and more. It was an amazing experience. 

I explored animation and figured out that my real passion was visual development, which includes character and background design.  I like the artsy part of a film, designing the look and by extension the feel.  It brought me around to illustration. 

 

JB: What kind of art are you able to do? What is your favorite? 

MH: I can do anything that involves digital work in Photoshop and Illustrator, animation in After Effects, Flash animation, hand drawn illustrations with a pen or paint and paper-cut-out art.  Paper-cut-out art has become my favorite because it feels like I’m building something, kind of like doing a puzzle or shaping a scene. 

 

JB: Can you show us some samples? 

MH: I have a website that showa the paper-cut-out art that I do. 

www.popcutouts.com

 

JB: How do you hone your craft? 

MH: I keep creating. I don’t stop for challenges; I work through them. I try variations on my artistic style, I look at the needs of the project, and I’m willing to evolve.  Together these 3 steps keep me growing. Each challenge may or may not become my style, but the challenge itself stretches me as an artist and makes me better. 

 

JB: What really draws you to a project? 

MH:The possibility of a project. Being a part of a project at the beginning when a blank canvas takes its shape.  I get turn blank white into whatever I want.  A project draws me if I enjoy the characters I get to create. If the moments with them as I draw them, cut them out and give them life invigorate me. Do I love getting to draw them over and over again in different situations? Do I love the storylines? Do I think this project has a chance to go anywhere?  If anything about the project makes me feel alive and like a creator I’m on board. 

 

JB: What is your dream job? Why do you want to do that? 

MH: I would love to do visual development or be an Art Director for a film or TV program.  I want to be involved with creating the big picture of a project versus the little guy hired to carry out the artistic assignments. I want the freedom to create the world and put stamp a bit of my heart into it.

 

JB: What would you encourage individuals to do who want to pursue art like this?

MH: No matter what anyone says, just keep creating art. Stay the course and don’t let people discourage you. It’s not easy, but it can work if you don’t quit. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

